History of the Award

The Christian Indie Awards honor outstanding Christian books by independent authors and small publishers.

Books are nominated by the publisher or author, and voting is open to Christian readers, retailers, and publishing professionals. Voting typically opens in February and runs through March.

Founded in 2008 by Christian Small Publishers Association, the awards were previously known as the Christian Small Publisher Book of the Year Award. Growing over the course of ten years from a humble four categories, these awards now encompass 14 different categories, with more on the way. In 2017, the name was changed to Christian Indie Awards to better embrace the evolving face of publishing.

Christian Small Publishers Association represents, promotes, and strengthens small publishers and independent authors producing books for the Christian marketplace. CSPA sponsors the Christian Indie Awards to bring attention to this segment of the industry and to promote independent publishing.